Four Tools for Interrupting Implicit Bias | Ready4Rigor

“I will never forget my first experience with implicit bias as an undergraduate at University of California, Berkeley. I had turned in my first in-class writing assignment in Medieval Literature. I loved the topic of courtly love and whatnot. The professor was an older White man and nice enough. There were no other people of color in the class, but I shined that on. I was excited to be reading these literary classics. I got my assignment back and his comment at the bottom was, ‘actually this is quite good.’ I was stunned. Actually? Clearly he had a different expectation of my knowledge and skill, a lower expectation. I couldn’t believe that he put that thought in writing. That’s implicit bias in action.”

 

Read on here: Four Tools for Interrupting Implicit Bias | Ready4Rigor

Leave a Reply

